TheFirefox.net Fraud and Abuse

TheFirefox.net - Pain in the RearIn my efforts to investigate this fraud issue, I tried to contact thefirefox.net’s web host - but have yet to get one reply back from them yet.

WebUnited.com have the proverbial skirt that these guys are hiding under. Besides a few press releases I couldn’t really find much information on or about the company. I put in a help desk ticket on their support system, but since wasn’t e-mailed a notice saying something to the effect of, “this is an automated message, you will be replied to in 24-48 hours” it probably doesn’t even work.

Looks like TheFirefox.net isn’t the only web site they are running this scam with. DomainTools.com shows at least 6 other domains hosted on this sever that look to also be fraud/abuse related accounts.

If anything else comes up, I’ll keep you updated.

Related Posts

 

Filed Under: Personal, Web Development on July 3, 2007 at 5:00 pm

Comments and Feedback

Seems their site is down for the moment Mitch. Maybe your emails did some good after all. I had a similar experience myself with a domain of mine. It now points to a fork-lift information site. Funny thing is…the domain ends with the word “designs”. Imagine that! LOL

Interesting, looks like he might have changed web hosts. Guess he knows somebody is on to him. I reported him to the copyright folks at Mozilla for copyright violations - so hopefully he can run but can’t hide.

Here is a link to the bug report I mentioned earlier:

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=387062

Yeah, the bug report hopefully will get the desired results. Seems their site is back up again too. Maybe the powers that be will get it removed asap.

Bonus: Get Firefox Tips, Themes, Add-ons and More at FirefoxFacts.com - RSS Feed

Dedicated Server Hosting provided by FastServers.Net
Mitch Keeler © 2008 - In Mitch We Trust!
Sitemap | RSS Feed | Privacy Policy | Go to Top